CITATION FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF MEDIA STUDIES (FACULTY OF HUMANITIES) AS WINNERS OF THE VICE-CHANCELLOR'S TEAM TEACHING AWARD 2016

The Team of the Department of Media Studies comprising of the following members:

Dr Nicky Falkof, Professor Mehita Iqani, Dr Dina Ligagaz, Dr Cobus van Staden, Dr

Ufuoma Akpojivi and Dr Glenda Daniels

Department of Media Studies

Faculty of Humanities

VICE-CHANCELLOR'S TEAM TEACHING AWARD 2016

It was mentioned in the nomination letter that the Media Studies Department was selected unanimously by colleagues in the Faculty as one of the recipients of the Faculty Teaching and Learning Awards for 2016. It was also noted that this department has developed and demonstrated a deep capacity for team work, collegiality and inclusive decision-making across the three years of their undergraduate curriculum. This has had significant implications for the quality of their intellectual environment as well as for throughput rates.

It was stated that the Media Studies undergraduate programme was extremely popular with students and remained under continual revision and improvement.

The 2014-2015 period in particular, saw a particularly impressive set of innovations which included:

- 1. New Assessment model that involved creative or practical assignments alongside essays;
- 2. First year contact hours doubled;
- 3. Second year course curricula and teaching methods redesigned;
- 4. Entire 3rd year programme reconfigured to teach "streams" designed to support specific postgraduate employment paths and create smaller classes;
- 5. Introduction to collaboratively agreed-upon guidelines about amount of reading to be assigned for each year, to ensure parity across different teaching styles.

It was noted that student responses to these changes had been overwhelmingly positive. The pass rate for the 1st year course Media and Society (SLLS1005) increased from 67.4% in 2014 to 90.4% in 2015 as a result of innovations in course design, teaching schedule and use of e-learning books.

It was stressed in the nomination that all members of the department were involved in making these decisions collaboratively and teaching across all undergraduate years. Significant course changes are discussed and decided in annual self-funded curriculum development workshops, meaning that each course offered leads coherently onto the next step of the undergraduate programme.